My writing habits!

quillI’ve seen a few blogs recently with authors talking about their writing practices, in particular the how and where they like to write and it made me compare my choices with the variety of likes and dislikes of these other authors, some well known, others not so much. Some could only work in silence, some liked to listen to music, while others preferred to work in public places such as coffee shops.

I have to admit I have never attempted to work in a public place, not sure I could cope with that, but I don’t like to work in silence. I have my computer set up on the dining room table (which tends to mean we very rarely eat meals there!) which happens to be set in the bay window of our house, overlooking the front garden and the main road that passes in front. Mostly the cars and buses pass in a blur and only if I get stuck will I look up and stare at the scene out of the window.

The TV is always on at the other end of the large open space that forms our living/dining area. I don’t actually listen to the TV, well not for most of the time anyhow, though it forms a comforting background. If things are not going well, I will pause and listen to what’s on and occasionally might go over and sit and watch for a time. Sometimes I will quickly abandon it and return to my computer, other times I will get caught up in whatever is on and find that break can often help to get my mind back on track again.

What does bother me though is if I am deep in the zone and someone comes along and merrily starts chatting to me. I get frustrated because the family knows if my fingers are flashing over the keyboard that I’m working and should be left alone, not exactly the most welcoming of attitudes I know, but that’s the truth behind the attitude of this writer!

I should also admit that I get distracted far too easily on my laptop, checking my emails, looking at FB and Twitter, blogs etc. etc. And that I can’t blame on anyone but myself!

Well I think it’s time to try and get back to continuing the chapter I’m supposed to be working on right now:)

Return to main page

Tagged: , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “My writing habits!

  1. Jay Naen July 10, 2014 at 3:29 pm Reply

    Nothing like having someone think their chatter is more important than your characters latest misadventure.

    • imagine647 July 10, 2014 at 9:21 pm Reply

      Oh yeah, especially if you’re at that important bit when you can’t afford to lose that spark!

  2. 007pandas/ Nomadic Adventure July 10, 2014 at 8:52 pm Reply

    I truly understand your comments. I have such a wired schedule to write and I find it amazingly interesting as to when and where I gain inspiration to write.

    Living in Southwest Florida within 15-min of the beach, I usually focus better at either sunrise or sunset while looking out toward the Gulf of Mexico. I find it strange that some late evenings between 9-10 pm, I find a surge of energy to write for at least two hours at a local Denny’s restaurant.

    I guess it makes no difference when or where, it is what is.

    • imagine647 July 10, 2014 at 9:23 pm Reply

      Heck, it’s a good thing I don’t live near the beach, I’d never get any writing done! But then we each react differently and I gotta say the idea of regularly watching sunrise or sunset over the ocean sounds wonderful. You’re right that ‘it is what it is’, I can’t imagine managing to get any work down at a restaurant:)

  3. lorellepage July 10, 2014 at 10:28 pm Reply

    When I went to a writer’s festival last year and one of the authors suggested having your writing laptop( if you have two of course) with no internet access at all. You know if you we have two…

    • imagine647 July 11, 2014 at 11:57 am Reply

      If you’re one of those very successful authors who can afford to have two!

Leave a Reply

Nicholas C. Rossis

sci-fi, epic fantasy & children's stories

Retirement Lifestyle Blog

A great retirement WordPress.com site

Out of the well

The bottom-of-a-well perspective of a wrestling writer. All perspectives welcome.

The Ink Stain

Hi everyone! This is my blog, and this is where I post all of my stories. Writing is my favorite thing to do, and I love nothing more than this. I would appreciate it if you took the time to read my stories! If you like the blog, please share it with more people. Thank you!

High Fantasy Addict

Reviews of high fantasy novels and discussion of the fantasy genre for readers and writers of fantasy

Fiction All Day

Writing and Life ~ by David Ben-Ami

I Remember You Well

Things were happening... and I remember there was music playing.

Sarah J. Carlson, Author

Writing, Travel, and Expat Observations of Singapore

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheros - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Planetary Defense Command

Defending the planet from bad science fiction

Eli Glasman

Blog of Australian author Eli Glasman

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran. Just another idiot on the Internet...Great.

Badpie is Delicious

Art, Writing, Feminism, Geek Stuff, Humor, and let's be honest, probably Cats.

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

I will shatter a word and scatter the contents into the wind to share it with the world.

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

Renard Moreau Presents

Cool Miscellaneous Thoughts

Knite Writes

The Official Blog of Therin Knite

Cubol Magazine

Live. Write. Inspire.

Philosopher Mouse of the Hedge

Simple observations, analysis, and common sense comments

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

Stories by Mercilo Daviss

Worlds and moments in just a few words. Have a look around and stay awhile.

A. G. Zalens

Inquiry of Vivid Word Fusion

Chris Martin Writes

Pressing more into Jesus Christ everyday

Jay Naen

Official Homepage

Flux and Flow

Stories of tedium, reality and falsity

Slingshot...Fiction, Adult, Romance, Fantasy Stories

Blogging words unspoken, with Cowgirl Celeste

allmostrelevant

getting your mind off of getting your mind off of things

roehilldotnet

Insatiable Studio: Diary of A Mad Writer

Three Wise Guys

Best not to think about it

Josephine L Brooks

Fantasy Books

Kendall F. Person, thepublicblogger

where writing is a performance art and every post is a show

Gabriel Lucatero Official Website

Stories of a hard-working waiter

Romance Novels:

The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

Plotting Bunnies

Words are oxygen

MirrorScript

“Your words to me, like the pages of a book; Only the sound, like water, leaves me breathless.”- Richard Follette

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Daily (w)rite

A Daily Ritual of Writing

poetreecreations.org

THE BEST OF POETRY

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

lionaroundwriting

Let us make an exchange - I provide stories, you enjoy them.

The Jenny Mac Book Blog

Jenny Mac and the Man of Secrets

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 962 other followers

